The Social Studies Teachers Association (SSTA) of Nova Scotia is a professional association of the Nova Scotia Teachers Union, with over 300 members from across the province. We are dedicated to professional development and member outreach for Social Studies and related subject teachers, grades primary to 12.

The SSTA executive committee is responsible for supporting members, promoting professional activities and teacher development, and planning our popular annual conference every October. 

The Nova Scotia Social Studies Teachers Association

Executive Directory 2017-2018

Position

Name Email

School

President

Maureen McNamara

msmcnamara@nstu.ca

Riverview High School

Vice President &

Conference Co-chair

Stephen Hare

share@hrsb.ca

Madeline Symonds Middle School

Secretary

Amanda Patterson

PattersonA@hrsb.ca

Sir John A Macdonald High

Treasurer

Leedi Penny

lpenny@nstu.ca

leedi.penny@srsb.ca

Dr. John Hugh Gillis Regional

Past President& Governance

Conference Co-chair

Wendy Driscoll

wadriscoll@nstu.ca

Communications & Webmaster

Melissa Shaw

MMacNeil-Shaw@hrsb.ca

Citadel High School

Conference Co-chair/Advisor

Susan Aliphat

susanaliphat@gmail.com

msaliphat@nstu.ca

Awards Chair c/o Amanda Patterson

Member at large/Advisor

Turk MacDonald

tdmacdonald@nstu.ca

Citadel High

Members at Large

Sasha Hayward-Isaac

hayward-isaacsa@gnspes.ca

East Hants Rural High

Bernard LeBlanc

jfleblanc@nstu.ca

Richmond Education Centre and Academy

Dean Marchand

dmmarchand@nstu.cca

St. Andrews Consolidated

Paul Brown

paul.brown@srsb.ca

East Antigonish Education Centre and Academy

Coralie Cameron

coraliejcameron@nstu.ca