Social Studies Teachers Association

About Us
Constitution

The Social Studies Teachers Association (SSTA) of Nova Scotia is a professional association of the Nova Scotia Teachers Union, with over 300 members from across the province. We are dedicated to professional development and member outreach for Social Studies and related subject teachers, grades primary to 12.

The SSTA executive committee is responsible for supporting members, promoting professional activities and teacher development, and planning our popular annual conference every October. 

The Nova Scotia Social Studies Teachers Association

Executive Directory 2016-2017

Position

Name Email

School

School Phone

 

President

Wendy Driscoll wadriscoll@nstu.ca

 

Bicentennial School

 

 

Vice President

Gary Renouf renoufg1@staff.ednet.ns.ca

 

South Colchester Academy

673-5000 (2630)

 

Secretary

Amanda Patterson

PattersonA@hrsb.ca

 

 

Citadel High School

491-4444

 

Treasurer

Leedi Penny

lpenny@nstu.ca

leedi.penny@srsb.ca

 

Dr. John Hugh Gillis Regional

 

 

Awards

c/o Amanda Patterson

 

 

 

Communications & Webmaster

Stephen Hare

share@hrsb.ca

 

Madeline Simmonds Middle School

 

 

Governance Chair

Susan Aliphat

susanaliphat@gmail.com

msaliphat@nstu.ca

 

 

 

 

Member at large

Maureen McNamara

msmcnamara@nstu.ca

 

Riverview High School

 

 

Member at large

Turk MacDonald

tdmacdonald@nstu.ca

Citadel High

 

 

Conference Co-Chairs

Wendy Driscoll & Susan Aliphat